Resolutions and proceedings of the Annual Meeting of the City of York Council held in the Guildhall, York on Thursday, 26th May, 2016, starting at 11.00 am

Present: The Lord Mayor (Cllr Sonja Crisp) in the Chair, during the first part of the meeting; the Lord Mayor Cllr Dave Taylor, in the Chair for the second part of the meeting and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
S Barnes K Myers	Galvin
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
D Myers Wells	Carr
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Mason Reid	D'Agorne Taylor
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Aspden	Craghill Flinders Looker
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Cuthbertson Gates Richardson	Boyce Funnell Williams
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	Crisp Derbyshire

Hull Road Ward	Huntington and New Earswick Ward
N Barnes Levene Shepherd	Cullwick Orrell Runciman
Micklegate Ward	Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward
Gunnell Hayes Kramm	Brooks Warters
Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward	Rural West York Ward
Dew Lisle Rawlings	Gillies
Strensall Ward	Westfield Ward
Doughty Douglas	Hunter Jackson Waller
Wheldrake Ward	

Mercer

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Cannon and Steward

Also in attendance Honorary Aldermen Mrs M Bwye, C Hall, D Horton, K King, M Kirk, J Morley, B Watson, R Watson, I Waudby and D Wilde

1. Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any personal interests not included on the Register of Interests, any prejudicial interests or any disclosable pecuniary interests they might have in the business on the agenda. No further interests were declared.

2. Appointment of Lord Mayor

Councillor Andrew Waller moved, Councillor Lars Kramm seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Dave Taylor of 26 New Walk Terrace, York YO10 4BG, be elected Lord Mayor of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

3. Qualification of Lord Mayor

Councillor Dave Taylor signified Acceptance of the Office of the Lord Mayor of the City of York, subscribed the Declaration of such acceptance and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by the law in that behalf.

4. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Ian Gillies moved, Councillor Johnny Hayes seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Mr Jonathan Tyler, of 11 Sandringham Street York, YO10 4BA, be appointed Sheriff of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

5. Qualification of Sheriff

Mr Jonathan Tyler made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Sheriff for the City of York Council and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

6. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Dave Taylor as Lord Mayor moved, Councillor Janet Looker seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Sonja Crisp, of 88 Manor Drive North, Holgate, York YO26 5RY be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

7. Qualification of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Sonja Crisp made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor for the City of York Council and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law.

8. Lady Mayoress's Chaplain

The Lord Mayor advised Council that the Lady Mayoress had appointed Reverend Canon Dr Christopher Collingwood to serve as her Chaplain during her year of office.

9. Sheriff's Chaplain and Under Sheriff

The Sheriff advised Council that he had appointed Carol Robinson to serve as his Chaplain and Ms Deborah Taylor to serve as his Under Sheriff during his year of office.

10. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Lord Mayor and Consort

Councillor Chris Cullwick moved, Councillor Fiona Derbyshire seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council express its sincere thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayor's Consort for their services to the City during the past municipal year.

11. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady

Councillor Julie Gunnell moved, Councillor Suzie Mercer seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council express its sincere thanks to the outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady for their services to the City during the past municipal year.

12. Formal Business of Council - Allocations to Seats and Appointments to the Council Structure and Outside Bodies 2016/17

With reference to the recommendations contained in paragraph 13 of the report at page 6 of the Council papers, Councillor Aspden moved the recommendations, which were seconded by Councillor Carr, namely the appointment of a Council Leader, Deputy Leader and the allocation of places and Councillors to Committees and other bodies for 2016/17, as shown in the republished papers circulated at the meeting.

It was then

Resolved: That Council

- (i) Agree the allocation of seats in accordance with Annex A circulated at the meeting and republished online;
- (ii) Approve the nominations to Committees, other bodies and outside bodies, including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs to Committees, at Annex B, as circulated at the meeting and set out online in the republished papers for the meeting.
- (iii) Note the appointments made to the Executive for 2016/17. 1.

Reason: To fulfil the Council's statutory requirements.

Action Required

1. Update website and inform outside bodies accordingly.

13. Appointment of Chief Executive

Following the recent interviews held by the Chief Executive Appointments Panel, consideration was given to the making of a formal appointment of a new Chief Executive of the City of York Council.

Resolved: That Mary Weastell be formally appointed as the Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service of the City of York Council on a start date to be agreed.

Cllr Dave Taylor LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.20 pm]